A Zine Exploring the Hidden Sides of the Twin Cities: Searching for Contributions

IMG_1661.JPG

Shock a Piece of History

There are a lot of stories out there, stories that reflect our lives in this place that we live, stories that illuminate things we didn’t even know were there. Everyone knows secrets hidden below the everyday, in a city we all think we know. I’ve kind of been yearning to put a few of them together into a little self-published zine and I was wondering if anyone would like to collaborate?

I’m planning to put together a collection of stories that would explore the strange, quirky, wonderful, and just plain obscure aspects of life in the Twin Cities. Anyone interested in contributing stories, poems, art, fiction, non-fiction, anything exploring or capturing some of the stranger feelings and ideas of what it means to live in the Twin Cities would be greatly appreciated. Whether, eerie, beautiful, or just weird, I’d like to show some of the mysteries and lesser known things hidden under the surface of the metro.

I’m just doing this for fun and I’m definitely open to suggestions about distributing, creating, or producing the end project. There could definitely be multiple issues if enough material comes in, but I’m aiming to get one done by the end of the year. So, as of now, a (flexible) deadline of December 31st for volume one. If there is anyone else you think might be interested, let them know too. Feedback, criticisms, and questions are highly encouraged, too. Email any contributions, questions, etcetera,  to burk0277@gmail.com. Thanks!

3 thoughts on “A Zine Exploring the Hidden Sides of the Twin Cities: Searching for Contributions

  1. Great idea! I’d like to contribute, but I work much better when I have a deadline to work towards. It’s also helpful to know when anything I contribute to will be put out and where it would be available. This looks like a really awesome project and I look forward to seeing lots of weird TC stories!

    • Thanks! You’re right, a deadline does always help motivate me, so I think it would be good to add one. I think a deadline of December 31st would be good; work towards the New Year, right? I’ll edit that in the entry.

  2. Pingback: Twin Cities Zinefest 2015 | MSP Adventure Time!

Leave a Reply

